The Heir

Photo Credits to stardustbooks.tumblr.com

Alas! I have been waiting for this book for a very long time and it is finally here! Sadly, due to finals week and a 10 day adventure in France I had to put my book addiction briefly on hold. On the very long 9 hour flight to France I picked up this book and was not disappointed. This series is my guilty pleasure. I’m a little embarrassed to admit that since it is a cheesy distopian version of The Bachelor with mediocre writing, but for some reason I can’t seem to put it done. Well played Kierra Cass. I do not have a review published for The Selection, The Elite, nor The One, and I doubt I will ever get there. For now we will just discuss the most recent addition.

The Heir follows the selection of America and Maxon’s daughter, Princess Eadlyn. I found this novel very interesting because Eadlyn is the first princess to ever become the heir and the first princess to ever go through the selection process. So, to the angsty feminists out there, this novel is definitely for you. The overall plot was very similar to the plot of The Selection. We see the selection process with some random plot twists thrown in every once in a while. The novel even wraps up with a HUGE plot twist that I never saw coming and got me a little emotional. The main thing I did not like about this plot, though, is that I felt like Maxon and America were totally different people. I understand that they are supposed to be older and more mature, but America didn’t have the fire inside of her anymore. I miss the original characters especially because I did not like the character of Eadlyn. I found her very whiny and enjoyed the role of America much more in the previous novels. The highlight of these books, though, is definitely to fine young men in these novels. I try to avoid giving away spoilers in these reviews, but I would just like to say that I will be very angry if Eadlyn does not end up with Kile. I’m assuming there is going to be another novel based on how it ended, but I am not sure if I am going to read it. The writing is simply just mediocre and I feel that I can devote my time to better novels. Here are some examples of the writing:

I’m not sure anyone knows what they are looking for until they find it.

Wow. Thanks for the wisdom, Eadlyn Schreave. We’re all bloody inspired.

You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.

And here is a lovely example of the strong female role of Eadlyn. Yes, it is nice to see a feminist protagonist, but her feminist inspiration is not very inspiring.

Overall I gave this novel 3/5 stars. There were some things I definitely was not happy about while reading it, but I’m a sucker for this series in some weird way. As  my mind begs me to stop reading it, my heart refuses because I’m still drawn in by the plot.

Lastly, I would just like to say this series has beautiful covers. While I know you are not supposed to judge a book by its cover, that is the reason why I read this series in the first place. The princess on the cover is beautiful as always and the color schemes are always perfectly displayed. These books make a very nice addition to bookshelves and I have mine on display front and center.

Love Always,

Chelsea

2 thoughts on “The Heir

Leave a comment