Summer of Supernovas

26109094.jpg

My most recent read is Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods. I received this book as an ARC back in May only a couple of days before its release, so I never actually got around to reading and reviewing it before it was released. This book was still sitting on my shelf, and I wanted a light summer read that would allow me to further procrastinate my reading that I need to get done for school (which I need to read 3 books and write 5 essays for before the end of summer… ha).

This book deals with the main character, Wilamena (called Wil or Mena)  Carlisle (which her name is absolutely beautiful, wow), and her journey of following her heart or a belief system that she has relied on for her whole life. The book starts out by introducing Wilamena’s obsession with astrology, and her love interest, Grant Walker. Soon, though, it becomes evident to the reader that Wil is going to have a complicated relationship with Grant when she meets Seth Walker, Grant’s brother, who is supposedly her perfect astrological pair. Throughout the course of the book, the reader follows Wil’s journey as she realizes that her heart is more important than astrology.

This book was cute and fluffy, but there are still a couple of things that bugged me. Wil’s obsession with astrology is actually just annoying, which disappointed me. I was hoping for a rather geeky main character who educates the reader on astrology. The only thing I ever even noticed about her obsession was how she ‘was always looking to the heavens.’ The other thing that bothered me about this book was the love triangle. I realize that the love triangle was there to help develop Wil’s character, but honestly, I wish the triangle would be more creative. It is clear the whole book that she will end up with (SPOILER)? Grant Walker. Love triangles are so overused in YA these days I can only really tolerate them when there is a unique aspect to them, or if the main character is really badass and can easily live without her boys.

There were honestly no noteworthy quotes to put down. In most of my reviews I add some quotes, but in all honesty, I didn’t mark any while reading because none really grabbed my attention.

There were some positive things to this book. I feel like I was just a little old for this book, maybe? I like romance books with more depth in them is really what I’m trying to say. I’m only 17, but I would recommend this book to younger kids rather than to people my age. This book had a couple of nice characters. While Wil and Grant were both really stereotypical to  YA novels, I really enjoyed Irina. She always added some light humor to the book.

Unfortunately, this book put me into a reading slump. I was hoping to read this in a day or two, and it took me two weeks when I honestly have a lot of books I would rather be reading. This book will definitely not stick with me in the future because it did not really set itself apart from some other books I’ve read. In all honesty, I just finished the book and don’t really even remember any specific parts that I enjoyed.

I realize that this review is slowly getting more and more negative, and I would like to clarify that this book was not bad, it really was just not my cup of tea. Darcy Woods has a nice writing style that flowed really well. Overall, I would still give this book 3/5 stars. I can’t really bring myself to give it any less than that since it is such a sweet and innocent read.

Love Always,

Chelsea

Leave a comment